Care

(This is dedicated to my grandmothers, my mother and my sisters… thank you for always inspiring and caring for me).

care

As I write this, I am watching my baby sister care for her home and family… after a storm at the ‘little home in the great big woods.’ I have retreated to higher ground for the time being. My sister’s own little home in the woods was the closest sanctuary.

I marvel as my sister bakes homemade bread and makes almond milk from actual almonds. Her chickens are laying eggs and I watch in admiration at her morning chores outdoors. She is a great mother and a great wife. Her love and care of others is very evident in her small home.

As I watch the care of everything around me; I can’t help but be inspired and yet also very disappointed in myself.

This has not been my most well-cared for season of life. I have been hard on myself and if I’m honest…hard on others.

Care of self and care of others are two of the hardest things to do. Yet the beauty of balance and life thrive between these two actions. God created us for care and fully discovering this fact is quite life changing.

At the core of who I am lies the desire to both care for others and be cared for in an intense and passionate way.

As the oldest of five children, ‘care’ of others has been ingrained in me. It’s an instinct that comes as natural as breathing.

However, the older I become the more I struggle with finding the balance of care for others AND myself. Burnout comes all too easy for those of us that live and love hard.

Being a mercy personality and a woman ruled by compassion, the act of care is something that has also been greatly exploited in my life. So much so that I am very careful and sometimes confused about where to invest this action.

(Fast forward to the big storm)…Here I am at the start of a fresh, new year and already feeling like something the cat dragged indoors.

I hope that whoever is reading this can identify a little and perhaps find some inspiration and hope.

 

The universal truth of care (and every other positive action) is that we all crave it and we all need it. Caring for ourselves and others has a trickle affect. It creates ripples, which causes waves, which can carry us all to a better place and way of living.

Here’s some treasure I found during my heart ponderings today:

Galatians 6:9-10 ” let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary. So then, while we have opportunity, let us do good to all people.”

Philippians 4:10 “I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at last you have renewed your care for me. You were, in fact, concerned about me, but lacked the opportunity (to show it).

May we all seek out the opportunities to be well and cared for in 2017.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

